Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Cover of "To Grandmother's House We Go"

One thing about having every
single one of your children and grandchildren living a distance from you is that you can take mini excursions to their house to visit.  “Over the river and through the woods to Grandmother’s house we go” has given way to “Grandma’s coming and she gets to sleep in MY bed and I get to sleep on the air mattress!”
I have been out-of-state for a visit with my oldest daughter and her family.  My 22-year-old son lives with them, so it’s a double feature for me when I get to visit with them at their home in Arkansas!
My curly-headed seven-year-old grandson considers my visits to be an adventure, like camping out.  The inconvenience of having someone take over his room doesn’t seem to bother him at all, and it gives him chance to show Grandma all of his toys and explain to her in minute detail how each of them works.
The trouble with visiting here is that I always eat too much, way more than I am used to, and usually stuff that is not very good for me.  So then I always go home fatter and sicker, but it’s worth it to me.  I enjoy seeing my kids and both grandsons, and I do enjoy good food!

Picture of the Ozark Mountains from Missouri S...

The Ozark mountains here in the northeast part of Arkansas are beautiful, and the scenery and vistas are wonderful.  There’s a reason this old gal loves the Ozarks!
Life is slow and easy here, and that’s alright — I’m looking forward to sharing some of my adventures with you when I get back.  In the meantime, I hope you are anticipating Thanksgiving with great relish!