Tags

, , , , , ,

“The other day when I was walking through the woods, I saw a rabbit standing in front of a candle making shadows of people on a tree.”   Stephen Wright 

The other evening, just before the sun was about to sink below the point where it can be seen, City Boy caught sight of a rabbit sitting in our front yard.  Knowing the little creature would disappear the second he heard the front door open, I was tempted to try taking a picture of him through the window pane.  But, I hate the bluish cast that tends to add to the pictures, so I decided to take a chance on sneaking out and maybe catching one decent shot before the rabbit hurried off.

Lo and behold, I opened the squeaky front door and stepped around the corner, and there Mr. Rabbit was.  I kept creeping closer, unbelievably, until I was only several feet away from him.  He didn’t move, and I got a couple of slightly decent shots of him.

Next thing I knew, Mr. Rabbit got up, and showed me what he thought of me being so close!

Although he looks like he is in attack mode, this rabbit’s reaction to my presence was to give a lazy stretch.  The picture isn’t as clear as I would like it to be, but I did manage to catch him in mid-yawn!

It was hard to decide if I should be happy or insulted that a little wild bunny rabbit found ME to be absolutely no threat at all, to the point that he started grooming himself in front of me.

Then he turned around and nestled down with his back to me.

Maybe I’m interpreting things wrong, but I kind of took that as an “up yours” kind of attitude.  I moved around to the other other side of him, and hurried to try and get a picture of him before he fell asleep.

Maybe I should mention here that there were cars going up and down the street, kids playing basketball directly across the street, where there was also a little dog barking its head off at Mr. Rabbit, and none of this seemed to phase him.  Finally one of our curious resident robins landed and started hopping towards him to get a better look.

"Can't you make HIM leave so I can get to the bread crumbs?"

“Can’t you make HIM leave so I can get to the bread crumbs you threw out in the grass for me?”

Finally, when I took a few steps closer to get a really clear shot, Mr. Rabbit decided I was close enough and got up, ready to go.

He turned around and I got one parting shot of him before I went inside.  

Later on, while it was still light enough to see, I looked out the window and there Mr. Rabbit still sat.  Maybe Mr. Rabbit is nocturnal.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and stay safe!