Tags

, , , , , ,

Little robin digging around in the grass.  For what?  The bread crumbs that City Boy tossed out for them to eat?  Seeds?  

No, the old cliche’ saying still holds true…

“The early bird gets the worm.”  Or, in this case, the late afternoon bird.

I wasn’t going to post this picture of the azaleas (we think that’s what they are) after another beating storm had them laying almost on the ground.  I thought it was a pretty bad-quality picture (still do).

Then, to my surprise, I noticed the bonus caterpillar-on-a-stick — the little fella was practically posing for the shot, and I hadn’t even seen it when I took the picture!  I only noticed it when I put the picture on the computer and was about to press the “Delete” button.  Talk about a person being unobservant — I guess a creature has to hurl itself out of the ground into my face before I notice it (referencing the worm post here).

I was trying to get a close-up picture of a bee that was buzzing from dandelion to dandelion, but it flew off before I could get a decent shot.  I was outside with a camera anyway, so I thought I might as well get a shot of this guy…

As a rural Ozarkian, I should know this, but I actually had no idea that flies went after pollen or whatever it is that a flower has that bugs are interested in.  But, there this one was, not going after the usual cow-patty, and instead burying his head in the dandelion in search of SOMEthing.  Usually I’m all about putting flies to death, but what the heck.

The thing that I am really trying to learn that is important when trying to photograph things, is being observant.  The other bloggers who take excellent pictures use observation to catch things that people ordinarily wouldn’t see or notice.  If you are not yet honed in this skill, try taking a GOOD look at your subject with your eyes before you look at it through the camera.  There are often things not normally obvious that, if seen ahead of time, can be a source of interest in your photo, or even the subject of it.

Life is so full of wonderful things.  Blessings to you today as you enjoy them!