Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

photograph everything

We all have them — the posts we just don’t post.  We take the pictures or write the content, but somehow it just doesn’t seem worthy of a post, so we just count it as a dud for whatever reason and don’t post it.

My posts are not always the most entertaining posts for everybody (and sometimes not for ANYbody), and I understand that.  Nobody can be entertaining to everybody every day, and I try to improve more as time goes by.  Right now, since I’m forming a new hobby of taking pictures, there are some things I have learned in picture-taking that I try to spare the world from as far as photographs.  Believe me, more of my pictures get put in the for-my-eyes-only pile than ever see the light of day in a post.

How many times have you had a photo posted of you somewhere, be it Facebook, a blog, bulletin board, or someplace like that where a lot of people would be seeing it, and the photo was just not your best look?  We’ve all been there!  Mostly without meaning to I’ve taken a lot of pictures of people like that, and I make a point of trying not to post any that might be an embarrassment to the person in the photo (unless, of course, I’m mad at them).  Here are a few I’m talking about:

1. People with goofy looks on their faces — lips pursed, eyes closed, mouth wide open, angry look, etc., or any combination of looks.

Aside from looking like I'm squeezing the life out of Precious Baby, this picture isn't embarrassing to either me or a future grown-up Precious Baby

Aside from looking like I’m squeezing the life out of Precious Baby, this picture isn’t embarrassing to either me or a future grown-up Precious Baby

This, on the other hand, makes both of us look constipated

This, on the other hand, makes both of us look constipated

2. People doing unsavory things.

Frank "picking up" after Lucy at the Texas Welcome Center during a break from traveling

Frank “picking up” after Lucy at the Texas Welcome Center during a break from traveling

3. People eating or drinking.

Although blurry, this picture of Becca and Precious Baby would have been a nice one, if not for the old lady in the background with a mouthful of food, taking a drink and sporting a shirt wet from attempts to wash off baby puke

Although blurry, this picture of Becca and Precious Baby would still have been a pleasant one, if not for the old lady in the background with a mouthful of food, taking a drink and sporting a shirt wet from attempts to wash off baby puke

A request I get, mostly from women, is “Don’t post any pictures that make me look fat!”  ‘Nuff said.

These are things I never even used to think about.  I didn’t even pay attention when I took pictures of a church potluck, or of people in social situations where they were animated and talking, singing, bending over to pick something up, etc.  These are things we do every day.  But in the moment a picture is snapped and that movement becomes a still-life, the way a person or thing looks can become totally different.

Let’s not forget animals!  I don’t know how many times I’ve tried to take a picture of Lucy, for instance, as she scampered around in the back yard, only to have her suddenly decide to squat and “do her duty” just as the shutter button went down.  

But probably the biggest nemesis of all for me as far as picture-taking of any kind is the blurry picture.  I have seen a LOT of pictures posted in other places that are fuzzy (and I will occasionally post moderately fuzzy ones like the one above if I’m desperate and they are the best ones I have of the occasion), but if they are too far gone, I can’t see posting them.  And I take a lot of blurry photos, mostly due to the shakiness of my hands from my avid chocolate abuse.

For a food post, I may take twice as many pictures or more than what I actually use.  And sometimes the pictures look so bad that I chuck the idea of even making the post.  For instance:

This stuff was actually good.  Really, it was.  But the pictures looked so unsavory that I didn't even post about it.

This stuff was actually good. Really, it was. But the pictures looked so unsavory that I didn’t even post about it.

The above picture actually started out with kind of a green hue before I processed it.  Yum.

Most of the “bad” pictures I get are of other people besides me and things (naturally, since I’m the one usually taking the pictures), but for this post I’ve mostly used pictures of myself and Frank to keep from embarrassing anybody else.  Bottom line is, no matter how boring/aggravating/goofy my posts are, they could be a lot worse!

I have learned over time to use a little sensitivity when I make posts — you know, the “Do unto others” attitude, since I hate it when people say negative things or post bad pictures of me (well, worse pictures of me) and I don’t want to do to them what I would hate for someone to do to me.

So, tomorrow is a new day, for learning and living.  I am looking forward to doing just that, and wishing all of you out there in Blogland a blessed day!