Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Country Hash Brown and Ham Casserole

What a most excellent Easter!  The weather was good (mostly) and I was able to meet Frank’s newest granddaughter.  Once I got my hands on her, it was hard to put her down!  But I did get plenty of pictures of her and of other things over the weekend and I’m processing them now.  I’m still needing to hone my photography skills so I don’t have to do so much processing (and also I need to use more wrinkle cream so I don’t have to work so hard at only showing the camera my “good” side).

Anyway, an acquaintance of mine, Barbara, from when I lived in the heart of Hillbilly country, shared this fabulous recipe with those of us lucky enough to travel in her circle of friends.  It’s my all-time favorite potato casserole EVER, and I have added ham to it to make it a main course dish.  If you’ve ever made the Hamburger Helper hash brown and ham casserole, or the dinner-in-a-box version of this dish, then you know that, while these box meals rate high in convenience, they leave a lot to be desired in taste and consistency.  

This recipe for Country Hash Brown and Ham Casserole will not even taste like the box versions, or even similar.  Trust me, the other versions don’t hold a candle to this yummy casserole.  Disclaimer: I may be totally off on the gram weights — I really tried hard to get them right!

COUNTRY HASH BROWN AND HAM CASSEROLE

Ingredients:

  • 1 large bag frozen hash brown potatoes
  • one 10.5 oz (298g)can cream of chicken soup
  • one 16 oz (454 g) container sour cream
  • one 8 oz (227 g) bag grated cheddar cheese
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 lb (454 g) ham, diced OR 16 oz (454 g) canned chunk ham, drained
  • 3 cups (90 g) cornflakes, crushed
  • 1 stick (113 g) butter or margarine, melted
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Grease 9 x 13 baking dish or spray with Pam.

Crush the cornflakes.  I use a zip lock gallon bag and whatever heavy item I have around, which in this case was an old sharpening stone.

Crushing Cornflakes

Mix potatoes, soup, sour cream, cheese, onion, ham, salt and pepper in a large bowl.

I chopped the onion and put it in the bowl first

I chopped the onion and put it in the bowl first

Then the potatoes were added

Then the potatoes were added

Then the rest of the ingredients except the cornflakes and butter

Then the rest of the ingredients except the cornflakes and butter

Put potato mixture in prepared baking pan and spread mixture evenly.

Making Casserole

Mix cornflakes with melted margarine.

Melting butter

Melting butter

Mixing cornflakes and butter

Mixing cornflakes and butter

Sprinkle this over the top of potato mixture.

Country Hash Brown and Ham Casserole

Bake, uncovered, at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

Country Hash Brown and Ham Casserole

One might think that the cornflake topping is optional and wouldn’t make a lot of difference either way, but one would be wrong.  The buttery cornflake crumbs are the “icing on the cake” of this casserole, and you’ll really be glad you added them.

City Boy and I usually eat too much of this when I fix it, because it’s SO GOOD.  Just a vegetable and/or a salad rounds the meal out, even for a whole family.  It’s easy to fix, so enjoy!

Hope you all had a fabulous Easter!

Country Hash Brown and Ham Casserole