Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Before the Storm

Right before the snowstorm a few birds pose

Wow, what a crazy two weeks it’s been!  Never dull, and a good mix of good and not-so-good things.  By that I mean that good things help us get that nice and fuzzy feeling, and not-so-good things help us appreciate the good things.

Our internet went down.  City Boy, without warning, decided to switch carriers for our phone service.  The phone carrier we had did not provide fax access so Frank decided we needed to make it so we could send them from home.

So, I found out about the change when I went into the office one day and noticed that the big hanging paper on the wall with our phone number on it (I frequently forget my own phone number) had our old number crossed out and replaced with a different one.  When I asked Frank about it, he told me, “Oh, yeah, I switched to a different carrier, and decided to bundle.”

So that’s what all this had to do with our internet — Frank had everything switched at the same time.  This was a good thing, except our internet suddenly went down on its own.  Poof.  The beginning of two snowstorms hit us and so our whole area was without internet for that carrier.

Snowing

Right after the snow started

So, the first of many reasons for not posting this week hit us hard.

Workers were scheduled to install all three services on the day we got heavy snowfall, so we went without internet for days until technicians were able to get here and install everything.  What internet I used last week was with my phone.  Anyway, installation took all that day, and I am still unhappy with the TV service, but it’s good to have everything working again.

Megan and sons

Megan and sons while we visited them in the hotel room her family was staying in

Emily in the ER with Brisbane, who was scared and in pain

Emily in the ER with Brisbane, who was scared and in pain

Then, back-to-back visits from both of my daughters and their families made things extra-special.  There was snowfall all the way through, and during the visit with Emily, my daughter from Iowa, my three-year-old grandson became ill while running a fever.  He suddenly became lethargic and then lost consciousness, so we all trekked into the city following the ambulance.  Poor Brisbane was in a lot of pain, and ended up after two days and two trips to the ER to have a bad infection nobody had known about, and the sudden fever had caused him to have a seizure (his first and hopefully his last).  My daughter had to extend her visit to Missouri and stayed with us and various relatives until Brisbane was recovered enough to travel.

The first snow we had finally thawed away, and then Sunday morning we woke up to get ready for church and discovered that it was snowing hard again.  Snow may be a bit confining, but it is so beautiful!  City Boy and I went to church anyway, and after two hours of being there it was still snowing, and we drove home in a blinding, windblown snow.

So, for several days Frank, Lucy and I were all hunkered down in a warm house, snow everywhere outside, along with the fattest robin on earth living in our front porch fake plant basket (Frank feeds our resident robin and she makes all the other birds look scrawny in comparison — I think maybe we are being enablers).  Then another flu bug hit me — immunosuppresent medication has now made it so that I catch every bug that comes within a mile of me, and I’ve been sick with one thing after another since Fall.  It gets old, but it could be worse.  I’m wanting very badly to be well for our trip to Texas this weekend, so I’m working on staying that way!

For most of the pictures of Megan’s family I forgot to change the camera settings, so those pictures could have been better color-wise, lol — here are a few pictures from Frank and my activities over the past two weeks :

This is the closest thing to a photograph taken from the front of my oldest grandson I will probably ever get a nod from his mother to post online, lol.  I think it’s neat the way his eyes seem to show through the paper he’s holding.

Oldest grandson at Texas Roadhouse Steakhouse where all of us went to eat and visit

Oldest grandson at Texas Roadhouse Steakhouse where all of us went to eat and visit

He gets kinda close to the tv back at the hotel room

He gets kinda close to the tv back at the hotel room

Bobby and Michael just finishing up a wrestling match

There were so many more pictures, but most included front views of the baby or of Megan (who doesn’t like her picture taken).  So alas, only a few pictures here, but we had a great visit and evening with all of them.

Most of the time Emily and her family were here involved Emergency Room visits, but I managed to catch a few pictures of them as well.

Emily comforting Brisbane and calling family members

Emily comforting Brisbane and calling family members

Jay comforts Brisbane and listens to the doctor

Jay comforts Brisbane and listens to the doctor

Brisbane scared and in pain and Jay attempts to calm him

Brisbane scared and in pain and Jay attempts to calm him

Hopefully Brisbane is on the road to recovery and doesn’t have a repeat of anything like this — it was a traumatic and painful time for him!

It began snowing and Jay had to get back to Iowa before the worst of it hit.  Pre-storm all the way through post storm was quite a show both times!  

As a precursor to the storm, birds of every kind teemed all over the tree in our front yard.

Right before the storm birds flocked to this tree -- I only managed to capture six of them at once

Right before the storm birds flocked to this tree — I only managed to capture six of them at once

These two held the stillest for me and I got a bunch of pictures of them -- I have no idea what kind of birds they are

These two held the stillest for me and I got a bunch of pictures of them — I have no idea what kind of birds they are

After the snow started I took this picture over our back yard fence

After the snow started I took this picture over our back yard fence

The same night I took the above picture, I took another one over the same part of the back yard fence, except the snow cast a glow on everything so that the night settings on my camera made everything too bright, so this is the picture of the back yard without the night settings.

Weirdly eerie picture of the back yard

Weirdly eerie picture of the back yard

The next snow storm that came along was so fun looking to Lucy that she just had to be out in it as soon as the snow started!

Lucy with her nose buried under the snow to find what she can find

Lucy with her nose buried under the snow to find what she can find

Lucy surveys the yard while huge snowflakes fall on her

Lucy surveys the yard while huge snowflakes fall on her

Even with wind blowing and snow caked on her feet and her face up to her eyes, Lucy still didn't want to come in

Even with wind blowing and snow caked on her feet and her face up to her eyes, Lucy still didn’t want to come in

Our holly bush and other foliage out front looked pretty as they were getting snowed on.

The front yard tree, which had started to bud out

The front yard tree, which had started to bud out

Bench

So, visitors, snow, technical difficulties, a whole day of installers, illness, getting ready for our trip and just general every day life, hasn’t left room for a dull moment this past couple of weeks, and we sure don’t want any dull moments!  

Becca’s Precious Baby, who we will be meeting this weekend, is three-and-a-half months old (no WAY!!), and time has flown!  So I thought I’d add the latest pictures of her:

734318_10151569658446639_1035429398_n

While we’re gone I’m hoping to be able and continue posting, and I hope all of you are gearing up for a fantastic Easter Sunday!  Only a few more days!