The Hot Swiss and Bacon Dip recipe in this post sounds so good I can almost taste it! I love swiss cheese–well, cheese of any kind actually–and if you do, too, you might find this worth a try!
Bacon is one of my favorite “bad” foods, and I’m too undisciplined to use the turkey bacon (yes, I’m bad), but whichever kind you use, I’m sure this will be a treat!
I’m going to try this recipe ASAP!

My Meals are on Wheels

Swiss cheeseis a generic name for several related varieties of cheese which resemble the Swiss Emmental. Some types of Swiss cheese

have a distinctive appearance, as the blocks of the cheese are riddled with holes known as “eyes”. Swiss cheese has a savory, but not very sharp, taste[citation needed]. Swiss cheese without eyes is known as “blind”.
Three types of bacteria are used in the production of Emmental cheese: Streptococcus salivarius subspecies thermophilus, Lactobacillus (Lactobacillus helveticus or Lactobacillus delbrueckii subspecies bulgaricus), and Propionibacterium (Propionibacterium freudenreichii subspecies shermani). In a late stage of cheese production, the propionibacteria consume the lactic acid excreted by the other bacteria and release acetate, propionic acid, and carbon dioxide gas. The carbon dioxide slowly forms the bubbles that develop the “eyes”. The acetate and propionic acid give Swiss its nutty and sweet flavor. Historically, the holes were seen as a sign of…

View original post 267 more words